Stage 7 of Healing - Resolution

At Stage Seven, we work to resolve the buildup of tension experienced in Stage Six, and one of the best ways to experience this is through “discharge”. As a society, the idea of discharge is generally a good thing. The feeling of discharging something from the body brings about relief. For instance, common examples of emotional discharge could be crying, screaming, or even hitting an object (such as a pillow) to release anger, frustration, or other kinds of emotional tension. Similarly, discharge can even be expressed as a fit of laughter, a big smile, or a long sigh of relief.

Through this discharge, we allow ourselves to reach a stage of resolution, calm, accomplishment, or freedom. We feel more grounded and at ease with everything in general, which is what we aim to reach in healing, too.

Fever is an incredibly common experience of a sick body, and once our bodies go above a certain temperature, we are programmed to seek medical help. However, this may disrupt the body’s natural discharge process. Paradoxically, by interfering with the natural rhythm of the discharge, we often create more of what our bodies are trying to eliminate, trying to control something that may not need to be controlled.

Of course, this discharge is only safe when the body itself is capable of recovery. There are certainly times when added assistance is needed. If the body cannot discharge independently and reach a resolution, the result could be dangerous. The distinction between a safe discharge and a dangerous discharge is seen when viewing our stage of suffering. Discharge in the suffering stage (Stage One) leaves us feeling helpless, trapped, and like something is really wrong; we are incapable of further initiating the healing process.

If discharge comes, however, in the resolution stage (Stage Seven) we have a sense of being an observer of the process rather than a victim; suffering comes at a time when our nervous system is flexible enough to recover from it.

Five major attitudes may appear during the discharge process, but they are not associated with resolution. These attitudes are fear, resentment, violation (feeling like a victim), loneliness, and guilt. If we experience any of these attitudes for more than a brief moment, the discharge process is likely occurring in a stage other than Stage Seven.

However, the more we heal, the more we will be sensitive to whether or not we need help. During discharge, we can choose a healing system that will help us move forward in the journey. If your inner voice says you should go through a therapeutic intervention, by all means, do it. But don’t confuse treatment or cure with healing. Lack of needed discharge equals lack of health.

Our movement through the rhythms of the previous six stages teaches us to trust in this process. This implies the need to naturally relinquish the judgment that it is wrong or right to discharge.

After achieving a resolution, we may gain insight into the changes needed to enter Stage Eight’s new state of awareness and peace. Embracing discharge as a natural part of the healing journey allows us to reconnect with our body’s innate wisdom and capacity for healing.

To learn more about the stages: SRI Basics

Get In Touch

" title="Our Location" frameborder="0">

Contact Information

990 Highland Drive, Suite 314 Solana Beach, CA 92075


Monday : 8:30 AM - 6:30 PM (Entrainments: 10-12PM & 3:40-6PM)

Tuesday: 9:30 AM - 4:30 PM (Entrainments: 11AM-2PM)

Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM (Entrainments: 10-12PM & 3:20-5:20PM)

Thursday: 10:30 AM - 6:30 PM (Entrainments: 12-1:20PM & 3:40-6PM)

Friday: 9:30 AM - 2:30 PM (Admin Only)

Saturday: By Appointment Only

Sunday: Closed

Book Now