Stage 8 of Healing - Emptiness in Connectedness

Stage 8 of the 12 Stages of Healing, as formulated by Donald Epstein, is an important phase in the journey towards holistic healing and personal transformation. This stage, known as the “Awakening,” is a profound shift that takes place as individuals begin to awaken to their true selves and reconnect with their innate wisdom and potential.

During Stage 8, people often experience a deep sense of clarity, insight, and expanded awareness. They are fully present and embrace a sense of space, or “emptiness.” Stage 8 can be called the first state of “being.” People start to recognize the limitations and patterns that have held them back and begin to envision a new, more empowered way of being. It is a time of personal growth, self-reflection, and embracing the possibilities for transformation.

This stage is marked by a shift in perception, where individuals gain a greater understanding of themselves and their life experiences. They become aware of the underlying patterns and beliefs that have influenced their choices and behaviors, and they begin to question and challenge those patterns.

The Awakening stage also involves letting go of old patterns and attachments that no longer serve their highest good. This can be a challenging process as individuals confront fears, insecurities, and resistance to change. However, by embracing this journey of self-discovery and releasing what no longer serves them, they create space for new opportunities and growth.

Throughout Stage 8, individuals may seek out various tools and practices that support their personal and spiritual development. This can include practices such as meditation, mindfulness, journaling, energy work, or engaging in meaningful conversations and connections with others. They may also seek guidance from mentors, therapists, or spiritual teachers to navigate this trans- formative process.

Ultimately, Stage 8 of the 12 Stages of Healing represents a profound awakening to one’s true potential and the possibility of creating a more fulfilling and purposeful life. It is a time of self- reflection, letting go of old patterns, and embracing new perspectives and possibilities. By embarking on this stage of healing, individuals can experience a profound shift in their overall well- being, finding greater harmony and alignment in their physical, emotional, and spiritual aspects.

We highly recommend our practice members read the 12 Stages of Healing and associated Workbook and attend our classes on Somato Respiratory Integration to optimize their connection to their bodies rhythms and learn body breath movement exercises they can do on their own to support their care.

To learn more about the stages: SRI Basics

Get In Touch

" title="Our Location" frameborder="0">

Contact Information

990 Highland Drive, Suite 314 Solana Beach, CA 92075


Monday : 8:30 AM - 6:30 PM (Entrainments: 10-12PM & 3:40-6PM)

Tuesday: 9:30 AM - 4:30 PM (Entrainments: 11AM-2PM)

Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM (Entrainments: 10-12PM & 3:20-5:20PM)

Thursday: 10:30 AM - 6:30 PM (Entrainments: 12-1:20PM & 3:40-6PM)

Friday: 9:30 AM - 2:30 PM (Admin Only)

Saturday: By Appointment Only

Sunday: Closed

Book Now